The Fountainhead – Howard Roark Speech (Ayn Rand)



3 Comments

  1. Catherine
    Posted November 19, 2007 at 1:28 am | Permalink

    Thank you for posting this clip. Rand’s work has had a profound impact on my life; both “The Fountainhead” and “Atlas Shrugged” are books that I read again and again. I have never seen the movie that this clip is pulled from, as I’ve never felt that a movie could do justice to such works.

    In my life as a classical musician and teacher, I face the enormity of mindless masses every day–people who endlessly follow instructions without an original thought, without question(after all, why should one take the time to think about things when there is a curriculum guide already written?). Integrity requires courage and strength, both qualities Roarke demonstrated so movingly in this speech.

  2. Posted February 17, 2008 at 7:35 am | Permalink

    I read The Fountainhead and Anthem and loved both. I saw this movie and thought it was a sad attempt at living up to the greatness Fountainhead really is.

  3. Keith
    Posted April 25, 2008 at 5:20 am | Permalink

    Strong sample of rhetoric. It makes me want to read the Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

