Republic, not a Democracy

We cannot trust the masses to stay informed. We cannot trust the masses to make wise decisions. We cannot trust the masses.

In a true democracy, all individuals have a say. But in America, all individuals do not have a say. We have a REPRESENTATIVE democracy. Not a true democracy.

The idea of a representative democracy makes sense in theory. People cannot be trusted… so let them hire representatives to do their bidding.

The only problem is… the masses vote for the wrong representatives.

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 30, 2007 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    Read your blog for the first time today; had seen the ad on Facebook, but I generally don’t click on ads at all, so it took me a while to come around.

    I love Ayn Rand’s writing. I don’t always love her philosophy, but that’s ok. I’m not usually a frequent commenter, but your blog is going in my Google Reader, so I’ll be keeping up with things here.

    And as for this particular post, you’ve hit on but one of many of my personal sources of ennui. I’m enough a member of the uninformed masses not to know as much about the various types of government as I should to have a real preference, but that’s kind of the point. The masses can’t choose the right people to represent them, and they aren’t informed enough/don’t care enough to change the system. Sigh.

    Great blog, though. Keep it up.

  2. Posted February 16, 2008 at 6:33 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the site. Ayn Rand’s writing remain a cornerstone in library.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

